by adom
0402 Thick Film Resistor · 15 Ω ±1% · 1/16 W
15 Ω Resistor 0402 - Bourns CR0402-FX-15R0GLF
Bourns CR0402-FX-15R0GLF: 0402 Thick Film Resistor, 15 Ω ±1%, 1/16 W. An Adom Basic Part: Adom keeps it on reels for its pick-and-place line, so boards built with it draw on Adom stock.
Key specs
| Spec | Datasheet |
|---|---|
| 0402 thick film chip resistor, 1.00 × 0.50 mm body, 0.32 mm thick, three-layer termination with a nickel barrier | p.2, p.1 |
| 15 Ω ±1 %, from the E24 & E96 value set, ordering code 15R0 (‘R’ marks the decimal point) | p.1, p.5 |
| Rated 1/16 W (62.5 mW) at 70 °C, derating linearly to zero at +155 °C | p.1, p.3 |
| Max working voltage 50 V; max overload voltage 100 V | p.1 |
| TCR ±100 ppm/°C, the ±1 % 10 Ω ≤ R ≤ 1 MΩ band covers this value | p.1 |
| Operating temperature −55 to +155 °C; Moisture Sensitivity Level 1 | p.1 |
| Short-time overload (2.5× rated voltage, 5 s): ΔR within ±(2 % + 0.1 Ω); dielectric withstanding voltage 300 V | p.4 |
| No top marking in the 0402 size; tin-plated terminations, RoHS compliant (LF) | p.6, p.5 |
| Paper tape, 2 mm pitch, 10,000 pcs on a 7-inch (178 mm) reel, packaging code G | p.5, p.7, p.8 |
Notes for designers
The datasheet’s 1 A current rating applies to the zero-ohm jumper, not this 15 Ω resistor. For this value, enforce both power and voltage limits: at 70 °C the nominal 62.5 mW power bound is about 64.5 mA or 0.968 V, before resistance tolerance and design margin. Reduce allowable power above 70 °C. Bourns CR-series datasheet, electrical characteristics.
CR0402-FX-15R0GLF is the 15 Ω member of Bourns’ CR series of general-purpose thick film chip resistors, in the 0402 size, a 1.00 × 0.50 mm body just 0.32 mm thick, built on a three-layer termination with a nickel barrier under the tin plating. (p.2, p.1) Tolerance is ±1 %, and like every CR0402 the top carries no marking, the value travels in the ordering code (15R0 → 15 Ω, ‘R’ marks the decimal point), not on the part. (p.1, p.5, p.6)
Design against 1/16 W at 70 °C ambient, the rating derates linearly above that and reaches zero at +155 °C (p.1, p.3), and keep continuous voltage at or below 50 V; the 100 V figure is an overload limit, not a working one. (p.1) TCR is ±100 ppm/°C across the 10 Ω-1 MΩ ±1 % band this value sits in. (p.1) At a value this low the 1 A rated current (2.5 A max overload) is the other ceiling to watch. (p.1) A 2.5× rated-voltage, 5-second overload is allowed to shift the value by up to ±(2 % + 0.1 Ω), worth knowing if a transient can land across it. (p.4)
3D model provenance
Bourns publishes no 3D model for the CR series, so the STEP is AI-generated from the Bourns CR Series datasheet
(REV. 03/21, p.2 Product Dimensions, CR0402 row) with OpenCascade: L 1.00, W 0.50, T 0.32 mm, top terminal C 0.20 mm,
bottom terminal D 0.25 mm, as a white alumina body with a black overcoat between tin-plated wrap-around terminals.
The marked STEP carries the part number from the mark planner; CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-unetched.step is the same model without it.
The previous model (KiCad's generic R_0402_1005Metric) is kept in provenance/, with the builder in
provenance/tools/.
Footprint
Redrawn from the datasheet land pattern (the previous pads were off by up to 0.1 mm).
Source: Land pattern from Bourns CR Series Thick Film Chip Resistors datasheet, REV. 03/21, p.2 (Recommended Pad Layout).
| mm | Datasheet | KiCad standard (R_0402_1005Metric) | Previous | This page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pad length (along the part) | 0.4 to 0.55 | 0.54 | 0.6 | 0.5 |
| Pad width | 0.4 to 0.6 | 0.64 | 0.5 | 0.5 |
| Gap between pads | 0.5 to 0.6 | 0.48 | 0.4 | 0.5 |
| Centre to centre | 0.9 to 1.15 | 1.02 | 1 | 1 |
| Overall | 1.4 to 1.6 | 1.56 | 1.6 | 1.5 |
| Corner radius | not specified | 0.135 (ratio 0.25) | 0.125 (ratio 0.25) | square (as drawn) |
| Corners: square, as the datasheet draws them. The datasheet does not call for rounded corners, so the footprint does not add any. |
Why the pads line up flush with the chip's terminals
Seen from underneath, each pad's inner edge sits exactly on the inner edge of the chip's bottom terminal, the pad is exactly as wide as the chip, and the copper reaches past the chip only at its two outer ends. That is the intended fit, and it follows the land-pattern standard and the Bourns datasheet:
- IPC-7351B solder-joint goals for chip resistors and capacitors smaller than 0603 (1608 metric), nominal density: toe 0.20 mm, heel 0.00 mm, side 0.00 mm (summarised on the PCB Libraries forum). The toe is the copper beyond the terminal's outer end, where the solder fillet forms and is inspected; heel and side are the copper inside and beside the terminal, and their nominal goal is zero.
- Bourns CR Series datasheet (REV. 03/21, p.2): CR0402 body L 1.00 +/- 0.05, W 0.50 +/- 0.05, T 0.32 +/- 0.05, bottom terminal D 0.25 +/- 0.10 mm; Recommended Pad Layout a (gap) 0.50 to 0.60, b (overall) 1.40 to 1.60, c (pad width) 0.40 to 0.60 mm.
This footprint uses a 0.50, b 1.50, c 0.50 mm, all inside Bourns' table:
| Goal | IPC-7351B nominal | This footprint | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toe | 0.20 mm | 0.25 mm | (b - L) / 2 = (1.50 - 1.00) / 2 |
| Heel | 0.00 mm | 0.00 mm | (L / 2 - D) - a / 2 = 0.25 - 0.25 |
| Side | 0.00 mm | 0.00 mm | (c - W) / 2 = (0.50 - 0.50) / 2 |
In the 3D viewer the part is seated at z = 0, the top of the copper. The pad outlines and the copper fill are drawn 0.02 mm below it so they never flicker against the part, which can read as a hairline gap when you zoom in close.
Chip outline
The part's 3D outline in the standard pose (pad 1 toward the viewer), drawn from the STEP by Adom's OpenCascade service; the part number sits where the laser-etched mark is on the 3D model and reads the same way.
Symbol options
The default symbol, CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.kicad_sym (the one in the Symbol & Footprint panel), is the plain standard symbol. CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-outline.kicad_sym is the same symbol with the part's 3D chip outline drawn beside it, its part number placed and reading as on the 3D model.
Ordering
| MPN | CR0402-FX-15R0GLF |
| Manufacturer | Bourns |
| Adom stock | Adom Basic Part, stocked on reels for Adom's pick-and-place line; reel counts on pnp-inventory |
| Other sources | adom-parts-search compares Mouser, DigiKey and JLCPCB |
Downloads
| File | What it is |
|---|---|
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.kicad_sym | KiCad symbol (standard symbol, the page default) |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-outline.kicad_sym | KiCad symbol with the 3D chip outline |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.kicad_mod | KiCad footprint (datasheet land pattern) |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.step | 3D STEP with the part number laser-etched (default) |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-unetched.step | 3D STEP, bare (no mark) |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.glb | 3D GLB of the etched model (board use) |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-unetched.glb | 3D GLB, bare |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.lbr | Fusion 360 / EAGLE library |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.adom-lbr.json | adom-lbr part (converts to Altium, KiCad, EAGLE) |
| CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-datasheet.pdf | Datasheet (release asset) |
Provenance
- Datasheet: CR Series - Thick Film Chip Resistors, REV. 03/21 revised REV. 03/21 (March 2021, month/year only, no day printed), Bourns, Inc. Manufacturer copy.
md5 bd7ef760deb65299950312783d29622d - Footprint: Land pattern from Bourns CR Series Thick Film Chip Resistors datasheet, REV. 03/21, p.2 (Recommended Pad Layout). Pads redrawn on 2026-10-03.
- 3D model and symbol: unchanged by the footprint pass; the etched STEP adds a flat virtual part-number mark (an identification aid, not the maker's marking).
More
- Datasheet pages: the 9 datasheet pages as images.
- Assembly animation: the part dropping onto its pads, and Adom's pick-and-place picking it from tape.
# 15 Ω Resistor 0402 - Bourns CR0402-FX-15R0GLF
**Bourns CR0402-FX-15R0GLF**: 0402 Thick Film Resistor, 15 Ω ±1%, 1/16 W. An Adom Basic Part: Adom keeps it on reels for its pick-and-place line, so boards built with it draw on Adom stock.
## Key specs
| Spec | Datasheet |
|---|---|
| 0402 thick film chip resistor, 1.00 × 0.50 mm body, 0.32 mm thick, three-layer termination with a nickel barrier | p.2, p.1 |
| 15 Ω ±1 %, from the E24 & E96 value set, ordering code 15R0 (‘R’ marks the decimal point) | p.1, p.5 |
| Rated 1/16 W (62.5 mW) at 70 °C, derating linearly to zero at +155 °C | p.1, p.3 |
| Max working voltage 50 V; max overload voltage 100 V | p.1 |
| TCR ±100 ppm/°C, the ±1 % 10 Ω ≤ R ≤ 1 MΩ band covers this value | p.1 |
| Operating temperature −55 to +155 °C; Moisture Sensitivity Level 1 | p.1 |
| Short-time overload (2.5× rated voltage, 5 s): ΔR within ±(2 % + 0.1 Ω); dielectric withstanding voltage 300 V | p.4 |
| No top marking in the 0402 size; tin-plated terminations, RoHS compliant (LF) | p.6, p.5 |
| Paper tape, 2 mm pitch, 10,000 pcs on a 7-inch (178 mm) reel, packaging code G | p.5, p.7, p.8 |
## Notes for designers
The datasheet’s 1 A current rating applies to the **zero-ohm jumper**, not this 15 Ω resistor. For this value, enforce both power and voltage limits: at 70 °C the nominal 62.5 mW power bound is about 64.5 mA or 0.968 V, before resistance tolerance and design margin. Reduce allowable power above 70 °C. [Bourns CR-series datasheet, electrical characteristics](https://www.bourns.com/docs/product-datasheets/cr.pdf).
CR0402-FX-15R0GLF is the 15 Ω member of Bourns’ CR series of general-purpose thick film chip resistors, in the 0402 size, a 1.00 × 0.50 mm body just 0.32 mm thick, built on a three-layer termination with a nickel barrier under the tin plating. (p.2, p.1) Tolerance is ±1 %, and like every CR0402 the top carries no marking, the value travels in the ordering code (15R0 → 15 Ω, ‘R’ marks the decimal point), not on the part. (p.1, p.5, p.6)
Design against 1/16 W at 70 °C ambient, the rating derates linearly above that and reaches zero at +155 °C (p.1, p.3), and keep continuous voltage at or below 50 V; the 100 V figure is an overload limit, not a working one. (p.1) TCR is ±100 ppm/°C across the 10 Ω-1 MΩ ±1 % band this value sits in. (p.1) At a value this low the 1 A rated current (2.5 A max overload) is the other ceiling to watch. (p.1) A 2.5× rated-voltage, 5-second overload is allowed to shift the value by up to ±(2 % + 0.1 Ω), worth knowing if a transient can land across it. (p.4)
## 3D model provenance
Bourns publishes no 3D model for the CR series, so the STEP is **AI-generated** from the Bourns CR Series datasheet
(REV. 03/21, p.2 Product Dimensions, CR0402 row) with OpenCascade: L 1.00, W 0.50, T 0.32 mm, top terminal C 0.20 mm,
bottom terminal D 0.25 mm, as a white alumina body with a black overcoat between tin-plated wrap-around terminals.
The marked STEP carries the part number from the mark planner; `CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-unetched.step` is the same model without it.
The previous model (KiCad's generic R_0402_1005Metric) is kept in `provenance/`, with the builder in
`provenance/tools/`.
## Footprint
Redrawn from the datasheet land pattern (the previous pads were off by up to 0.1 mm).
Source: Land pattern from Bourns CR Series Thick Film Chip Resistors datasheet, REV. 03/21, p.2 (Recommended Pad Layout).
| mm | Datasheet | KiCad standard (R_0402_1005Metric) | Previous | This page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pad length (along the part) | 0.4 to 0.55 | 0.54 | 0.6 | 0.5 |
| Pad width | 0.4 to 0.6 | 0.64 | 0.5 | 0.5 |
| Gap between pads | 0.5 to 0.6 | 0.48 | 0.4 | 0.5 |
| Centre to centre | 0.9 to 1.15 | 1.02 | 1 | 1 |
| Overall | 1.4 to 1.6 | 1.56 | 1.6 | 1.5 |
| Corner radius | not specified | 0.135 (ratio 0.25) | 0.125 (ratio 0.25) | square (as drawn) |
Corners: square, as the datasheet draws them. The datasheet does not call for rounded corners, so the footprint does not add any.
::adom-footprint-variants{src="/adom/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/render/footprint-variants/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.variants.json" heading="Pad corners: this footprint (square, as drawn) and KiCad default rounding (not used)"}
### Why the pads line up flush with the chip's terminals
Seen from underneath, each pad's inner edge sits exactly on the inner edge of the chip's bottom terminal, the pad
is exactly as wide as the chip, and the copper reaches past the chip only at its two outer ends. That is the
intended fit, and it follows the land-pattern standard and the Bourns datasheet:
- **IPC-7351B solder-joint goals** for chip resistors and capacitors smaller than 0603 (1608 metric), nominal
density: toe 0.20 mm, heel 0.00 mm, side 0.00 mm (summarised on the
[PCB Libraries forum](https://www.pcblibraries.com/forum/topic2813.html)). The toe is the copper beyond the
terminal's outer end, where the solder fillet forms and is inspected; heel and side are the copper inside and
beside the terminal, and their nominal goal is zero.
- **Bourns CR Series datasheet** (REV. 03/21, p.2): CR0402 body L 1.00 +/- 0.05, W 0.50 +/- 0.05, T 0.32 +/- 0.05,
bottom terminal D 0.25 +/- 0.10 mm; Recommended Pad Layout a (gap) 0.50 to 0.60, b (overall) 1.40 to 1.60,
c (pad width) 0.40 to 0.60 mm.
This footprint uses a 0.50, b 1.50, c 0.50 mm, all inside Bourns' table:
| Goal | IPC-7351B nominal | This footprint | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toe | 0.20 mm | 0.25 mm | (b - L) / 2 = (1.50 - 1.00) / 2 |
| Heel | 0.00 mm | 0.00 mm | (L / 2 - D) - a / 2 = 0.25 - 0.25 |
| Side | 0.00 mm | 0.00 mm | (c - W) / 2 = (0.50 - 0.50) / 2 |
In the 3D viewer the part is seated at z = 0, the top of the copper. The pad outlines and the copper fill are
drawn 0.02 mm below it so they never flicker against the part, which can read as a hairline gap when you zoom in
close.
## Chip outline
The part's 3D outline in the standard pose (pad 1 toward the viewer), drawn from the STEP by Adom's OpenCascade service; the part number sits where the laser-etched mark is on the 3D model and reads the same way.
::adom-chip-thumbnail{src="/adom/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/render/artwork/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-thumbs.json"}
## Symbol options
The default symbol, `CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.kicad_sym` (the one in the Symbol & Footprint panel), is the plain standard symbol. `CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-outline.kicad_sym` is the same symbol with the part's 3D chip outline drawn beside it, its part number placed and reading as on the 3D model.
## Ordering
| | |
|---|---|
| MPN | `CR0402-FX-15R0GLF` |
| Manufacturer | Bourns |
| Adom stock | Adom Basic Part, stocked on reels for Adom's pick-and-place line; reel counts on [pnp-inventory](https://wiki.adom.inc/adom/pnp-inventory) |
| Other sources | [adom-parts-search](https://wiki.adom.inc/adom/adom-parts-search) compares Mouser, DigiKey and JLCPCB |
## Downloads
| File | What it is |
|---|---|
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.kicad_sym](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.kicad_sym) | KiCad symbol (standard symbol, the page default) |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-outline.kicad_sym](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-outline.kicad_sym) | KiCad symbol with the 3D chip outline |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.kicad_mod](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.kicad_mod) | KiCad footprint (datasheet land pattern) |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.step](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.step) | 3D STEP with the part number laser-etched (default) |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-unetched.step](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-unetched.step) | 3D STEP, bare (no mark) |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.glb](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.glb) | 3D GLB of the etched model (board use) |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-unetched.glb](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-unetched.glb) | 3D GLB, bare |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.lbr](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.lbr) | Fusion 360 / EAGLE library |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.adom-lbr.json](/blob/component/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF.adom-lbr.json) | adom-lbr part (converts to Altium, KiCad, EAGLE) |
| [CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-datasheet.pdf](https://wiki.adom.inc/download/aravk/cr0402-fx-15r0glf/1.0.0/CR0402-FX-15R0GLF-datasheet.pdf) | Datasheet (release asset) |
## Provenance
- Datasheet: **CR Series - Thick Film Chip Resistors**, REV. 03/21 revised REV. 03/21 (March 2021, month/year only, no day printed), Bourns, Inc. [Manufacturer copy](https://www.bourns.com/docs/Product-Datasheets/CR.pdf). `md5 bd7ef760deb65299950312783d29622d`
- Footprint: Land pattern from Bourns CR Series Thick Film Chip Resistors datasheet, REV. 03/21, p.2 (Recommended Pad Layout). Pads redrawn on 2026-10-03.
- 3D model and symbol: unchanged by the footprint pass; the etched STEP adds a flat virtual part-number mark (an identification aid, not the maker's marking).
## More
- [Datasheet pages](docs/datasheet.md): the 9 datasheet pages as images.
- [Assembly animation](docs/assembly.md): the part dropping onto its pads, and Adom's pick-and-place picking it from tape.