by adom
0805 MLCC · 47 µF ±20% X5R · 6.3 V
47 µF Capacitor 0805 - Samsung CL21A476MQYNNNE
Samsung Electro-Mechanics CL21A476MQYNNNE: 0805 MLCC, 47 µF ±20% X5R, 6.3 V. An Adom Basic Part: Adom keeps it on reels for its pick-and-place line, so boards built with it draw on Adom stock.
Key specs
| Spec | Datasheet |
|---|---|
| 0805 multilayer ceramic chip capacitor, 2.00 × 1.25 × 1.25 mm body (±0.20 mm), 0.50 mm termination bands; Ni inner electrodes, Cu termination, Ni/100% Sn Pb-free plating | p.1 |
| 47 µF ±20%, rated 6.3 V, X5R (Class II) dielectric, code A | p.1 |
| X5R temperature characteristic: capacitance change within ±15% from −55 to +85 °C | p.2 |
| High-capacitance measurement condition: 120 Hz ±20% at 0.5±0.1 Vrms, after a 150 °C 1-hour heat treatment and 24±2 h rest | p.2 |
| Dissipation factor 0.1 max; insulation resistance 10,000 MΩ or 100 MΩ·µF, whichever is smaller | p.2 |
| Withstands 250% of rated voltage with no dielectric or mechanical breakdown; high-temperature life test at 150% of rated voltage for 1,000 h | p.2 |
| Board-flex rating: capacitance change within ±10% at the 1 mm bending-strength limit | p.2 |
| Class II dielectric, capacitance changes with applied DC and AC voltage; the manual's own DC-bias example curve is an X5R 6.3 V-rated part | p.11, p.14 |
| Reflow soldering rated to a 260±5 °C peak, 30 s | p.2 |
| Embossed (plastic) carrier tape, 4 mm pitch, 2,000 pcs per 7-inch (φ178 mm) reel | p.1, p.4, p.7 |
Notes for designers
CL21A476MQYNNNE is the top of this family's capacitance ladder: 47 µF of X5R ceramic in an 0805, bought by trading everything else down, 6.3 V rating, ±20% tolerance, and the loosest body tolerance in the set at ±0.20 mm. (p.1) It is a bulk-decoupling part for low-voltage logic and DC/DC rails.
Capacitance is factory-measured the high-cap way: 120 Hz at 0.5 Vrms, after a 150 °C de-aging bake and 24-hour rest. X5R holds it within ±15% from −55 to +85 °C; dissipation factor is 0.1 max, insulation resistance 10,000 MΩ or 100 MΩ·µF whichever is smaller, and the dielectric is proofed at 250% of rated voltage. (p.2)
Design against DC bias before anything else: this is exactly the class of part whose effective capacitance sags as the rail approaches the 6.3 V rating, the manual's own example bias curve is drawn for an X5R 6.3 V-rated capacitor. (p.14) The bending test also allows up to ±10% capacitance change at 1 mm of board flex. (p.2) Reflow is 260±5 °C peak for 30 s, shipped 2,000 per 7-inch embossed-tape reel. (p.2, p.4)
3D model provenance
The STEP is Samsung Electro-Mechanics' own model (CL21A106KAY6NNE.STEP, published through SnapEDA as "Created with Samsung"). Samsung builds its MLCC models at the top of the thickness tolerance, so this one is 1.46 mm tall against the 1.25 +/- 0.20 mm thickness Samsung lists for this part. Samsung exports it lying on its side (Y up); it is stood upright (Z up, seated on the board) without changing its shape or colours. Samsung's file is kept byte for byte in provenance/, beside the previous model.
Footprint
Redrawn from the datasheet land pattern (the previous pads were off by up to 0.176 mm).
Source: Land pattern from Samsung MLCC Product Manual, section 5-4 Land dimension (Reflow Footprint), p.32 (5-4 Land dimension, Reflow Footprint).
| mm | Datasheet | KiCad standard (C_0805_2012Metric) | Previous | This page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pad length (along the part) | 0.85 to 0.9 | 1 | 1.05 | 0.875 |
| Pad width | 1.35 to 1.4 | 1.45 | 1.38 | 1.375 |
| Gap between pads | 0.8 to 0.85 | 0.9 | 0.726 | 0.825 |
| Centre to centre | 1.65 to 1.75 | 1.9 | 1.776 | 1.7 |
| Overall | 2.5 to 2.65 | 2.9 | 2.826 | 2.575 |
| Corner radius | not specified | 0.25 (ratio 0.25) | 0.1313 (ratio 0.125) | square (as drawn) |
| Corners: square, as the datasheet draws them. The datasheet does not call for rounded corners, so the footprint does not add any. |
Chip outline
The part's 3D outline in the standard pose (pad 1 toward the viewer), drawn from the STEP by Adom's OpenCascade service; the part number sits where the laser-etched mark is on the 3D model and reads the same way.
Symbol options
The default symbol, CL21A476MQYNNNE.kicad_sym (the one in the Symbol & Footprint panel), is the plain standard symbol. CL21A476MQYNNNE-outline.kicad_sym is the same symbol with the part's 3D chip outline drawn beside it, its part number placed and reading as on the 3D model.
Ordering
| MPN | CL21A476MQYNNNE |
| Manufacturer | Samsung Electro-Mechanics |
| Adom stock | Adom Basic Part, stocked on reels for Adom's pick-and-place line; reel counts on pnp-inventory |
| Other sources | adom-parts-search compares Mouser, DigiKey and JLCPCB |
Downloads
| File | What it is |
|---|---|
| CL21A476MQYNNNE.kicad_sym | KiCad symbol (standard symbol, the page default) |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE-outline.kicad_sym | KiCad symbol with the 3D chip outline |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE.kicad_mod | KiCad footprint (datasheet land pattern) |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE.step | 3D STEP with the part number laser-etched (default) |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE-unetched.step | 3D STEP, bare (no mark) |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE.glb | 3D GLB of the etched model (board use) |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE-unetched.glb | 3D GLB, bare |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE.lbr | Fusion 360 / EAGLE library |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE.adom-lbr.json | adom-lbr part (converts to Altium, KiCad, EAGLE) |
| CL21A476MQYNNNE-datasheet.pdf | Datasheet (release asset) |
Provenance
- Datasheet: SPECIFICATION (Reference sheet), per-MPN Samsung MLCC spec sheets (pages 4-36 of the full docs are the generic 'MLCC Product Manual' annex), revised No version/revision number printed in any of the 8 docs. Only in-body date: 'Product specifications included in the specifications are effective as of March 1, 2013.' (page 2 of all 8 docs)., Samsung Electro-Mechanics.
md5 d2d4d8a15f32506b9704fbbeadc8975c - Footprint: Land pattern from Samsung MLCC Product Manual, section 5-4 Land dimension (Reflow Footprint), p.32 (5-4 Land dimension, Reflow Footprint). Pads redrawn on 2026-10-03.
- 3D model and symbol: unchanged by the footprint pass; the etched STEP adds a flat virtual part-number mark (an identification aid, not the maker's marking).
More
- Datasheet pages: the 36 datasheet pages as images.
- Assembly animation: the part dropping onto its pads, and Adom's pick-and-place picking it from tape.
# 47 µF Capacitor 0805 - Samsung CL21A476MQYNNNE
**Samsung Electro-Mechanics CL21A476MQYNNNE**: 0805 MLCC, 47 µF ±20% X5R, 6.3 V. An Adom Basic Part: Adom keeps it on reels for its pick-and-place line, so boards built with it draw on Adom stock.
## Key specs
| Spec | Datasheet |
|---|---|
| 0805 multilayer ceramic chip capacitor, 2.00 × 1.25 × 1.25 mm body (±0.20 mm), 0.50 mm termination bands; Ni inner electrodes, Cu termination, Ni/100% Sn Pb-free plating | p.1 |
| 47 µF ±20%, rated 6.3 V, X5R (Class II) dielectric, code A | p.1 |
| X5R temperature characteristic: capacitance change within ±15% from −55 to +85 °C | p.2 |
| High-capacitance measurement condition: 120 Hz ±20% at 0.5±0.1 Vrms, after a 150 °C 1-hour heat treatment and 24±2 h rest | p.2 |
| Dissipation factor 0.1 max; insulation resistance 10,000 MΩ or 100 MΩ·µF, whichever is smaller | p.2 |
| Withstands 250% of rated voltage with no dielectric or mechanical breakdown; high-temperature life test at 150% of rated voltage for 1,000 h | p.2 |
| Board-flex rating: capacitance change within ±10% at the 1 mm bending-strength limit | p.2 |
| Class II dielectric, capacitance changes with applied DC and AC voltage; the manual's own DC-bias example curve is an X5R 6.3 V-rated part | p.11, p.14 |
| Reflow soldering rated to a 260±5 °C peak, 30 s | p.2 |
| Embossed (plastic) carrier tape, 4 mm pitch, 2,000 pcs per 7-inch (φ178 mm) reel | p.1, p.4, p.7 |
## Notes for designers
CL21A476MQYNNNE is the top of this family's capacitance ladder: 47 µF of X5R ceramic in an 0805, bought by trading everything else down, 6.3 V rating, ±20% tolerance, and the loosest body tolerance in the set at ±0.20 mm. (p.1) It is a bulk-decoupling part for low-voltage logic and DC/DC rails.
Capacitance is factory-measured the high-cap way: 120 Hz at 0.5 Vrms, after a 150 °C de-aging bake and 24-hour rest. X5R holds it within ±15% from −55 to +85 °C; dissipation factor is 0.1 max, insulation resistance 10,000 MΩ or 100 MΩ·µF whichever is smaller, and the dielectric is proofed at 250% of rated voltage. (p.2)
Design against DC bias before anything else: this is exactly the class of part whose effective capacitance sags as the rail approaches the 6.3 V rating, the manual's own example bias curve is drawn for an X5R 6.3 V-rated capacitor. (p.14) The bending test also allows up to ±10% capacitance change at 1 mm of board flex. (p.2) Reflow is 260±5 °C peak for 30 s, shipped 2,000 per 7-inch embossed-tape reel. (p.2, p.4)
## 3D model provenance
The STEP is Samsung Electro-Mechanics' own model (`CL21A106KAY6NNE.STEP`, published through SnapEDA as "Created with Samsung"). Samsung builds its MLCC models at the top of the thickness tolerance, so this one is 1.46 mm tall against the 1.25 +/- 0.20 mm thickness Samsung lists for this part. Samsung exports it lying on its side (Y up); it is stood upright (Z up, seated on the board) without changing its shape or colours. Samsung's file is kept byte for byte in `provenance/`, beside the previous model.
## Footprint
Redrawn from the datasheet land pattern (the previous pads were off by up to 0.176 mm).
Source: Land pattern from Samsung MLCC Product Manual, section 5-4 Land dimension (Reflow Footprint), p.32 (5-4 Land dimension, Reflow Footprint).
| mm | Datasheet | KiCad standard (C_0805_2012Metric) | Previous | This page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pad length (along the part) | 0.85 to 0.9 | 1 | 1.05 | 0.875 |
| Pad width | 1.35 to 1.4 | 1.45 | 1.38 | 1.375 |
| Gap between pads | 0.8 to 0.85 | 0.9 | 0.726 | 0.825 |
| Centre to centre | 1.65 to 1.75 | 1.9 | 1.776 | 1.7 |
| Overall | 2.5 to 2.65 | 2.9 | 2.826 | 2.575 |
| Corner radius | not specified | 0.25 (ratio 0.25) | 0.1313 (ratio 0.125) | square (as drawn) |
Corners: square, as the datasheet draws them. The datasheet does not call for rounded corners, so the footprint does not add any.
::adom-footprint-variants{src="/adom/cl21a476mqynnne/render/footprint-variants/CL21A476MQYNNNE.variants.json" heading="Pad corners: this footprint (square, as drawn) and KiCad default rounding (not used)"}
## Chip outline
The part's 3D outline in the standard pose (pad 1 toward the viewer), drawn from the STEP by Adom's OpenCascade service; the part number sits where the laser-etched mark is on the 3D model and reads the same way.
::adom-chip-thumbnail{src="/adom/cl21a476mqynnne/render/artwork/CL21A476MQYNNNE-thumbs.json"}
## Symbol options
The default symbol, `CL21A476MQYNNNE.kicad_sym` (the one in the Symbol & Footprint panel), is the plain standard symbol. `CL21A476MQYNNNE-outline.kicad_sym` is the same symbol with the part's 3D chip outline drawn beside it, its part number placed and reading as on the 3D model.
## Ordering
| | |
|---|---|
| MPN | `CL21A476MQYNNNE` |
| Manufacturer | Samsung Electro-Mechanics |
| Adom stock | Adom Basic Part, stocked on reels for Adom's pick-and-place line; reel counts on [pnp-inventory](https://wiki.adom.inc/adom/pnp-inventory) |
| Other sources | [adom-parts-search](https://wiki.adom.inc/adom/adom-parts-search) compares Mouser, DigiKey and JLCPCB |
## Downloads
| File | What it is |
|---|---|
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE.kicad_sym](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE.kicad_sym) | KiCad symbol (standard symbol, the page default) |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE-outline.kicad_sym](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE-outline.kicad_sym) | KiCad symbol with the 3D chip outline |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE.kicad_mod](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE.kicad_mod) | KiCad footprint (datasheet land pattern) |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE.step](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE.step) | 3D STEP with the part number laser-etched (default) |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE-unetched.step](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE-unetched.step) | 3D STEP, bare (no mark) |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE.glb](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE.glb) | 3D GLB of the etched model (board use) |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE-unetched.glb](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE-unetched.glb) | 3D GLB, bare |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE.lbr](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE.lbr) | Fusion 360 / EAGLE library |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE.adom-lbr.json](/blob/component/cl21a476mqynnne/CL21A476MQYNNNE.adom-lbr.json) | adom-lbr part (converts to Altium, KiCad, EAGLE) |
| [CL21A476MQYNNNE-datasheet.pdf](https://wiki.adom.inc/download/aravk/cl21a476mqynnne/1.0.0/CL21A476MQYNNNE-datasheet.pdf) | Datasheet (release asset) |
## Provenance
- Datasheet: **SPECIFICATION (Reference sheet), per-MPN Samsung MLCC spec sheets (pages 4-36 of the full docs are the generic 'MLCC Product Manual' annex)**, revised No version/revision number printed in any of the 8 docs. Only in-body date: 'Product specifications included in the specifications are effective as of March 1, 2013.' (page 2 of all 8 docs)., Samsung Electro-Mechanics. `md5 d2d4d8a15f32506b9704fbbeadc8975c`
- Footprint: Land pattern from Samsung MLCC Product Manual, section 5-4 Land dimension (Reflow Footprint), p.32 (5-4 Land dimension, Reflow Footprint). Pads redrawn on 2026-10-03.
- 3D model and symbol: unchanged by the footprint pass; the etched STEP adds a flat virtual part-number mark (an identification aid, not the maker's marking).
## More
- [Datasheet pages](docs/datasheet.md): the 36 datasheet pages as images.
- [Assembly animation](docs/assembly.md): the part dropping onto its pads, and Adom's pick-and-place picking it from tape.