by adom
0805 MLCC · 10 µF ±10% X5R · 16 V
10 µF Capacitor 0805 - Samsung CL21A106KOQNNNG
Samsung Electro-Mechanics CL21A106KOQNNNG: 0805 MLCC, 10 µF ±10% X5R, 16 V. An Adom Basic Part: Adom keeps it on reels for its pick-and-place line, so boards built with it draw on Adom stock.
Key specs
| Spec | Datasheet |
|---|---|
| 0805 multilayer ceramic chip capacitor, 2.00 × 1.25 × 1.25 mm body (±0.15 mm), 0.50 mm termination bands; Ni inner electrodes, Cu termination, 100% Sn Pb-free plating | p.1 |
| 10 µF ±10%, rated 16 V, X5R (Class II) dielectric, code A | p.1 |
| X5R temperature characteristic: capacitance change within ±15% from −55 to +85 °C | p.2 |
| Capacitance measured at 1 kHz ±10% / 1.0±0.2 Vrms, after a 150 °C 1-hour heat treatment and 24±2 h rest (de-aging protocol); dissipation factor 0.1 max | p.2 |
| Insulation resistance 10,000 MΩ or 100 MΩ·µF, whichever is smaller, at rated voltage | p.2 |
| Withstands 250% of rated voltage with no dielectric or mechanical breakdown; high-temperature resistance test at 100% of rated voltage for 1,000 h | p.2 |
| Recommended soldering: reflow, peak 260 +0/−5 °C, 10 s max | p.2 |
| Supplied on embossed (plastic) carrier tape, 7-inch reel | p.1 |
Notes for designers
CL21A106KOQNNNG is a 10 µF ±10% X5R ceramic in 0805, rated 16 V (p.1), the default output capacitor for 3.3 V and 5 V regulator rails. The X5R dielectric holds capacitance within ±15% from −55 to +85 °C, dissipation factor is 0.1 max, and insulation resistance is 10,000 MΩ or 100 MΩ·µF, whichever is smaller. (p.2) The dielectric is proofed at 250% of rated voltage. (p.2)
Note the fine print in the measurement column: capacitance is specified at 1 kHz / 1.0 Vrms only after a 150 °C one-hour heat treatment and a 24-hour rest (p.2), the de-aged, best-case reading. Reflow is the recommended soldering method, with a 260 +0/−5 °C peak held no longer than 10 s. (p.2) The document is Samsung's 3-page short-form spec: it carries the decode, dimensions, reliability table and soldering method, but no tape dimensions, reel quantity, or bias/TCC curves.
3D model provenance
The STEP is Samsung Electro-Mechanics' own model (CL21A105KAQ1INE.STEP, published through SnapEDA as "Created with Samsung"). Samsung builds its MLCC models at the top of the thickness tolerance, so this one is 1.41 mm tall against the 1.25 +/- 0.15 mm thickness Samsung lists for this part. Samsung exports it lying on its side (Y up); it is stood upright (Z up, seated on the board) without changing its shape or colours. Samsung's file is kept byte for byte in provenance/, beside the previous model.
Footprint
Redrawn from the datasheet land pattern (the previous pads were off by up to 0.326 mm).
Source: Land pattern from Samsung MLCC Product Manual, section 5-4 Land dimension (Reflow Footprint) (this part's 3-page reference sheet has no land table; the same Samsung MLCC manual table is p.32 of the CL21B104KBCNFNC specification on adom/cl21b104kbcnfnc), p.32 (5-4 Land dimension, Reflow Footprint).
| mm | Datasheet | KiCad standard (C_0805_2012Metric) | Previous | This page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pad length (along the part) | 0.8 to 0.85 | 1 | 1.05 | 0.825 |
| Pad width | 1.3 to 1.35 | 1.45 | 1.38 | 1.325 |
| Gap between pads | 0.75 to 0.8 | 0.9 | 0.726 | 0.775 |
| Centre to centre | 1.55 to 1.65 | 1.9 | 1.776 | 1.6 |
| Overall | 2.35 to 2.5 | 2.9 | 2.826 | 2.425 |
| Corner radius | not specified | 0.25 (ratio 0.25) | 0.1313 (ratio 0.125) | square (as drawn) |
| Corners: square, as the datasheet draws them. The datasheet does not call for rounded corners, so the footprint does not add any. |
Chip outline
The part's 3D outline in the standard pose (pad 1 toward the viewer), drawn from the STEP by Adom's OpenCascade service; the part number sits where the laser-etched mark is on the 3D model and reads the same way.
Symbol options
The default symbol, CL21A106KOQNNNG.kicad_sym (the one in the Symbol & Footprint panel), is the plain standard symbol. CL21A106KOQNNNG-outline.kicad_sym is the same symbol with the part's 3D chip outline drawn beside it, its part number placed and reading as on the 3D model.
Ordering
| MPN | CL21A106KOQNNNG |
| Manufacturer | Samsung Electro-Mechanics |
| Adom stock | Adom Basic Part, stocked on reels for Adom's pick-and-place line; reel counts on pnp-inventory |
| Other sources | adom-parts-search compares Mouser, DigiKey and JLCPCB |
Downloads
| File | What it is |
|---|---|
| CL21A106KOQNNNG.kicad_sym | KiCad symbol (standard symbol, the page default) |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG-outline.kicad_sym | KiCad symbol with the 3D chip outline |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG.kicad_mod | KiCad footprint (datasheet land pattern) |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG.step | 3D STEP with the part number laser-etched (default) |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG-unetched.step | 3D STEP, bare (no mark) |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG.glb | 3D GLB of the etched model (board use) |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG-unetched.glb | 3D GLB, bare |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG.lbr | Fusion 360 / EAGLE library |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG.adom-lbr.json | adom-lbr part (converts to Altium, KiCad, EAGLE) |
| CL21A106KOQNNNG-datasheet.pdf | Datasheet (release asset) |
Provenance
- Datasheet: SPECIFICATION (Reference sheet), per-MPN Samsung MLCC spec sheets (pages 4-36 of the full docs are the generic 'MLCC Product Manual' annex), revised No version/revision number printed in any of the 8 docs. Only in-body date: 'Product specifications included in the specifications are effective as of March 1, 2013.' (page 2 of all 8 docs)., Samsung Electro-Mechanics.
md5 fb1618a3093bbd179178629dcfb6c399 - Footprint: Land pattern from Samsung MLCC Product Manual, section 5-4 Land dimension (Reflow Footprint) (this part's 3-page reference sheet has no land table; the same Samsung MLCC manual table is p.32 of the CL21B104KBCNFNC specification on adom/cl21b104kbcnfnc), p.32 (5-4 Land dimension, Reflow Footprint). Pads redrawn on 2026-10-03.
- 3D model and symbol: unchanged by the footprint pass; the etched STEP adds a flat virtual part-number mark (an identification aid, not the maker's marking).
More
- Datasheet pages: the 3 datasheet pages as images.
- Assembly animation: the part dropping onto its pads, and Adom's pick-and-place picking it from tape.
# 10 µF Capacitor 0805 - Samsung CL21A106KOQNNNG
**Samsung Electro-Mechanics CL21A106KOQNNNG**: 0805 MLCC, 10 µF ±10% X5R, 16 V. An Adom Basic Part: Adom keeps it on reels for its pick-and-place line, so boards built with it draw on Adom stock.
## Key specs
| Spec | Datasheet |
|---|---|
| 0805 multilayer ceramic chip capacitor, 2.00 × 1.25 × 1.25 mm body (±0.15 mm), 0.50 mm termination bands; Ni inner electrodes, Cu termination, 100% Sn Pb-free plating | p.1 |
| 10 µF ±10%, rated 16 V, X5R (Class II) dielectric, code A | p.1 |
| X5R temperature characteristic: capacitance change within ±15% from −55 to +85 °C | p.2 |
| Capacitance measured at 1 kHz ±10% / 1.0±0.2 Vrms, after a 150 °C 1-hour heat treatment and 24±2 h rest (de-aging protocol); dissipation factor 0.1 max | p.2 |
| Insulation resistance 10,000 MΩ or 100 MΩ·µF, whichever is smaller, at rated voltage | p.2 |
| Withstands 250% of rated voltage with no dielectric or mechanical breakdown; high-temperature resistance test at 100% of rated voltage for 1,000 h | p.2 |
| Recommended soldering: reflow, peak 260 +0/−5 °C, 10 s max | p.2 |
| Supplied on embossed (plastic) carrier tape, 7-inch reel | p.1 |
## Notes for designers
CL21A106KOQNNNG is a 10 µF ±10% X5R ceramic in 0805, rated 16 V (p.1), the default output capacitor for 3.3 V and 5 V regulator rails. The X5R dielectric holds capacitance within ±15% from −55 to +85 °C, dissipation factor is 0.1 max, and insulation resistance is 10,000 MΩ or 100 MΩ·µF, whichever is smaller. (p.2) The dielectric is proofed at 250% of rated voltage. (p.2)
Note the fine print in the measurement column: capacitance is specified at 1 kHz / 1.0 Vrms only after a 150 °C one-hour heat treatment and a 24-hour rest (p.2), the de-aged, best-case reading. Reflow is the recommended soldering method, with a 260 +0/−5 °C peak held no longer than 10 s. (p.2) The document is Samsung's 3-page short-form spec: it carries the decode, dimensions, reliability table and soldering method, but no tape dimensions, reel quantity, or bias/TCC curves.
## 3D model provenance
The STEP is Samsung Electro-Mechanics' own model (`CL21A105KAQ1INE.STEP`, published through SnapEDA as "Created with Samsung"). Samsung builds its MLCC models at the top of the thickness tolerance, so this one is 1.41 mm tall against the 1.25 +/- 0.15 mm thickness Samsung lists for this part. Samsung exports it lying on its side (Y up); it is stood upright (Z up, seated on the board) without changing its shape or colours. Samsung's file is kept byte for byte in `provenance/`, beside the previous model.
## Footprint
Redrawn from the datasheet land pattern (the previous pads were off by up to 0.326 mm).
Source: Land pattern from Samsung MLCC Product Manual, section 5-4 Land dimension (Reflow Footprint) (this part's 3-page reference sheet has no land table; the same Samsung MLCC manual table is p.32 of the CL21B104KBCNFNC specification on adom/cl21b104kbcnfnc), p.32 (5-4 Land dimension, Reflow Footprint).
| mm | Datasheet | KiCad standard (C_0805_2012Metric) | Previous | This page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pad length (along the part) | 0.8 to 0.85 | 1 | 1.05 | 0.825 |
| Pad width | 1.3 to 1.35 | 1.45 | 1.38 | 1.325 |
| Gap between pads | 0.75 to 0.8 | 0.9 | 0.726 | 0.775 |
| Centre to centre | 1.55 to 1.65 | 1.9 | 1.776 | 1.6 |
| Overall | 2.35 to 2.5 | 2.9 | 2.826 | 2.425 |
| Corner radius | not specified | 0.25 (ratio 0.25) | 0.1313 (ratio 0.125) | square (as drawn) |
Corners: square, as the datasheet draws them. The datasheet does not call for rounded corners, so the footprint does not add any.
::adom-footprint-variants{src="/adom/cl21a106koqnnng/render/footprint-variants/CL21A106KOQNNNG.variants.json" heading="Pad corners: this footprint (square, as drawn) and KiCad default rounding (not used)"}
## Chip outline
The part's 3D outline in the standard pose (pad 1 toward the viewer), drawn from the STEP by Adom's OpenCascade service; the part number sits where the laser-etched mark is on the 3D model and reads the same way.
::adom-chip-thumbnail{src="/adom/cl21a106koqnnng/render/artwork/CL21A106KOQNNNG-thumbs.json"}
## Symbol options
The default symbol, `CL21A106KOQNNNG.kicad_sym` (the one in the Symbol & Footprint panel), is the plain standard symbol. `CL21A106KOQNNNG-outline.kicad_sym` is the same symbol with the part's 3D chip outline drawn beside it, its part number placed and reading as on the 3D model.
## Ordering
| | |
|---|---|
| MPN | `CL21A106KOQNNNG` |
| Manufacturer | Samsung Electro-Mechanics |
| Adom stock | Adom Basic Part, stocked on reels for Adom's pick-and-place line; reel counts on [pnp-inventory](https://wiki.adom.inc/adom/pnp-inventory) |
| Other sources | [adom-parts-search](https://wiki.adom.inc/adom/adom-parts-search) compares Mouser, DigiKey and JLCPCB |
## Downloads
| File | What it is |
|---|---|
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG.kicad_sym](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG.kicad_sym) | KiCad symbol (standard symbol, the page default) |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG-outline.kicad_sym](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG-outline.kicad_sym) | KiCad symbol with the 3D chip outline |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG.kicad_mod](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG.kicad_mod) | KiCad footprint (datasheet land pattern) |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG.step](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG.step) | 3D STEP with the part number laser-etched (default) |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG-unetched.step](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG-unetched.step) | 3D STEP, bare (no mark) |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG.glb](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG.glb) | 3D GLB of the etched model (board use) |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG-unetched.glb](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG-unetched.glb) | 3D GLB, bare |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG.lbr](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG.lbr) | Fusion 360 / EAGLE library |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG.adom-lbr.json](/blob/component/cl21a106koqnnng/CL21A106KOQNNNG.adom-lbr.json) | adom-lbr part (converts to Altium, KiCad, EAGLE) |
| [CL21A106KOQNNNG-datasheet.pdf](https://wiki.adom.inc/download/aravk/cl21a106koqnnng/1.0.0/CL21A106KOQNNNG-datasheet.pdf) | Datasheet (release asset) |
## Provenance
- Datasheet: **SPECIFICATION (Reference sheet), per-MPN Samsung MLCC spec sheets (pages 4-36 of the full docs are the generic 'MLCC Product Manual' annex)**, revised No version/revision number printed in any of the 8 docs. Only in-body date: 'Product specifications included in the specifications are effective as of March 1, 2013.' (page 2 of all 8 docs)., Samsung Electro-Mechanics. `md5 fb1618a3093bbd179178629dcfb6c399`
- Footprint: Land pattern from Samsung MLCC Product Manual, section 5-4 Land dimension (Reflow Footprint) (this part's 3-page reference sheet has no land table; the same Samsung MLCC manual table is p.32 of the CL21B104KBCNFNC specification on adom/cl21b104kbcnfnc), p.32 (5-4 Land dimension, Reflow Footprint). Pads redrawn on 2026-10-03.
- 3D model and symbol: unchanged by the footprint pass; the etched STEP adds a flat virtual part-number mark (an identification aid, not the maker's marking).
## More
- [Datasheet pages](docs/datasheet.md): the 3 datasheet pages as images.
- [Assembly animation](docs/assembly.md): the part dropping onto its pads, and Adom's pick-and-place picking it from tape.